Iced Coffee

I have been an avid milk drinker all of my life. Growing up, my older brother and I would go through so much milk my mom could hardly keep it stocked.

So you can imagine my reluctance when my husband tried to get me to try a Starbucks iced coffee drink with…(gasp)…soy milk. No thank you. I can guarantee I won’t like it; soy milk is not even close to the taste of real milk.

Eventually I gave in and tried it, much to my surprise, it was love at first sip. Starbucks uses vanilla soy milk which is a nice little bonus because it adds a vanilla flavor without having to get a shot of vanilla syrup. The Starbucks iced soy latte became one of my favorite summer drinks. Who knew?

Now, I am very frugal person, or at least I try to be, so shelling out three or four bucks for an iced coffee drink didn’t really jive with my spending habits. I decided that there HAD to be a way I could get the drink I had come to love without paying the big bucks.

Google to the rescue.

With one Google search, I stumbled across an iced coffee post by The Pioneer Woman, my newest blog obsession. Her method was one I had not thought of or seen before so I thought “Why not?” and gave it try.

Here’s how it went down:

I used Starbucks Medium Columbian blend ground coffee as my flavor of choice but any coffee will do.

I put about 1/2 to 2/3 of the bag of coffee into a big glass mixing bowl. Then I poured enough water, at room temperature or could even be cold water, to fill up the bowl.

I hail from a family that does not measure when cooking so I do not know precisely how much water I put in but it was several cups. Use your judgment on how strong you like your coffee. Since this is iced coffee, I do recommend making it a little stronger than your normal java.

Be sure to give it a good stir! You want all of the grinds to be mixed with the water.

The next step is very difficult for the weak-willed and impatient…

Let the bowl of coffee set for several hours. I mean like 8 hours minimum.

Noooo! I have to wait that long? But yes, its a must. I made my coffee concoction at night and let it set allll night long while I dreamed of how delicious it would be the next day.

This is where I veered off from The Pioneer Woman’s method. She uses a hand-held strainer to strain off the grinds. In my case:

Lack of hand-held strainer + my husband’s genius = French press to the rescue

If you don’t have a french press, you could line a strainer with a coffee filter or paper towel.

Voila! French press doing what it does best.

After the French press did its thing, I poured the coffee into a pitcher we could keep in the fridge.

We ended up getting at least 10 glasses of iced coffee out of this bad boy, if not more.

I was too anxious to find out if this was a success or not so I think I let the pitcher set in the fridge for…maybe 30 minutes? Maybe? It wasn’t very long that’s for sure.

I poured a half glass of coffee to start out.

Because the vanilla flavor is what I love about the Starbucks drink, I used vanilla soy milk but you can use whatever you like in your drink. Half n half, milk & sugar, flavored syrup…whatever gets your taste buds dancin’!

Ohhhh….chocolate syrup. Why didn’t I think of that sooner?! Pure bliss in an iced coffee drink.

Give it a good stir and let your taste buds have a little sip of heaven!

I was utterly thrilled to find this iced coffee how-to by The Pioneer Woman. Visit her post and I recommend reading the rest of her blog.  She’s hilarious and fun to read. Also, a fellow Bartlesville native I might add.

I hope you enjoyed this as much as I did!

Cheers,

Jordan

3 thoughts on “Iced Coffee

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Donuts « recipe or not

Leave a Comment

