Mini Burgers & Couscous

This little recipe has just been inducted into my collection of “staple” recipes. You know the kind, those “I-don’t-know-what-to-make-so-I’ll-revert-back-to-easy-recipes-I-know-and-love” recipes.

I found this one on RealSimple.com a couple months ago, tried it, loved it.

It has it all – different textures, lots of flavor, and simple to make.

And I don’t have much else to say except – let’s eat!

We’re going to start off with some spices for the burgers…

This mound of granules contains: 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin, 1 teaspoon paprika, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.

Now, I must explain… I’ve actually found two different versions of this recipe on Real Simple. One was for chicken and called for paprika and the other was for ground beef and calls for oregano.

I actually made the chicken version first and loved the combo of the cumin & paprika so when I found the other and realized how similar they were, I substituted the paprika for the oregano.

So what I’m saying is – you could be the first one to try the cumin & oregano combo!

It could be the highlight of your day.

Also, what I’m saying is you can use boneless skinless chicken breast or ground beef to make this recipe and it will be wonderful either way.

Enough of me saying stuff… let’s get cooking!

The recipe version I am basing this post on is the one for ground beef but, at the time, we happened to already have ground turkey meat so it got the good fortune of being made into this recipe.

Wow, I never realized how versatile this recipe was – chicken, ground beef or ground turkey!

Stir up the spices and mix in the enter-any-one-of-the-meats-here, then form them into patties.

I cook the burgers on the stove because we do not and cannot have a grill in our apartment so really, these could be full size burgers but I make them mini because they’re easy to work with on the stove… and they cook faster so they can reach my mouth faster.

There they are… I wish you could smell them through pictures. I’m sorry you can’t. They smell wonderful when they cook.

The real reason I tried this recipe – couscous.

I had never made it before and really wanted to try it.

You should have seen me at the grocery store trying to find couscous the first time. I searched way too long in the pasta section.

Eventually I found them by rice… just FYI, in case you’ve never had to look for couscous either.

I also am a huge fan of these boxes of flavored couscous. The actual recipe says to add olive oil, lemon juice, and salt & pepper.

I ignore all of that.

I just follow the directions on the box and bam! couscous in five minutes, flavor and all.

In the five minutes the couscous cooks, I cut up a few veggies.

Meet the trio: tomato, cucumber, onion.

I ALWAYS cut up too much onion. I never can seem to break this habit, I don’t know why, it’s weird. I just always overestimate how much onion will be needed.

After the couscous is done cooking…

Mix the veggies in… don’t mix so much that the tomato turns to salsa, a light mixing will do.

Make sure the burgers are cooked all the way through (especially if using chicken or turkey).

Yum, yum, yum…

See? A really great simple weeknight dinner.

I still wish you could smell it.

Enjoy,

Jordan

Leave a Comment

