Pumpkin Spice Donuts

I never knew my hand could move so fast when this pumpkin spice donut pin popped up on Pinterest. I had it repinned to my Pinterest account faster than you can even start the word ‘pumpkin’.

(For those that may not have discovered Pinterest yet… it’s a handy-dandy site that holds a massive collection of all things wonderful… well I guess that is… if you like to craft, cook or plan your entire future through pictures.)

I have been dying to try this recipe by Blue-Eyed Bakers since I saw it wandering around Pinterest but as much as I couldn’t wait to try it, I also wanted to wait for that rare and elusive Saturday morning when you have no obligations except to start the coffee. This is the kind of recipe to take your time on, enjoy, and the best part, savor each bite.

I am happy to report… that kind of Saturday arrived last weekend and I.was.pumped.

These are hands down one of the best fall Saturday morning breakfasts.

Leading off is 3/4 cup canned pumpkin.

And here we see a lack of milk in our fridge, substituted by vanilla soy milk. (1/2 c.)

I invite you to read of my journey in coming to terms with vanilla soy milk.

An egg… just an egg… one little egg…

Question of the day: Did the chicken come first or the egg?

Other question of the day: how old is the first question of the day?

I have no idea but I’m guessing its pretty darn old!

Because you can’t have baked goods without vanilla… 1 1/2 teaspoons

1/2 cup brown sugar into the vanillafied batter.

Vanillafied – (van-ill-a-fide) – a state in which a baking batter contains vanilla that can no longer be separated and extracted from the batter as a whole

You will see that in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary in 2013. Mark my words.

1 3/4 cup o’ flour…

Also somewhere along the way I missed the picture for vegetable oil sooooo yeah… add 1/3 cup. veggie oil

It wouldn’t be a great fall breakfast without the fall spices:

1 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t. nutmeg, 1/2 t. allspice, 1/8 t. ground cloves

Also add 1/2 t. salt and 1 1/2 t. baking powder

Now for a couple of thoughts:

– nutmeg is missing from the photo shoot… whoops

– I’ve never heard of 1/8 t. in my life and completely didn’t even notice that measurement so naturally I thought “oh great, that’s easy, 1/2 t. of each spice” and put 1/2 t. ground cloves into the mix and 5.8735 seconds later realized it should not be even close to that amount and immediately started scooping out the extra cloves because you CAN separate spices that have been mixed up. Haha… nope, so I scooped out the cloves and added some more of the other spices to ensure the right amount of spiciness.

– What is a clove anyways? …. I just googled them… they are dried flower buds and they look like this:

Meanwhile back at the ranch…

This batter’s on deck for the oven.

I can’t help the sports terms… I have two brothers.

I do not have a donut baking pan so I divided the batter between a mini-muffin pan and a regular muffin pan, greased.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or so and these will be pretty moist even when they are fully baked.

And while they were baking, I enjoyed a hot cup of java…

…in my favorite mug. I hope you can read the bottom but if not, it says “Herman catches a lucky break.” I don’t know why but I loved this mug when I first saw it and it’s been my favorite ever since. A nice little reminder to find the humor in all things.

Also while the donuts were baking, I got the assembly line ready – a bowl of hot, melted butter and a bowl of cinnamon & sugar…

Sorry, I did not get a full shot of my little assembly line. Maybe one of these posts I’ll have all the pictures I need!

Once the donuts are fully baked, let them cool just enough for your hands to tolerate.

Pull out the Henry Ford deep inside and get that assembly line cranking – a dip in butter, a dip in the cinnamon & sugar and on to a plate they go until they are all coated.

Mine turned out like this:

Kinda funky shaped for donut holes but they were delectable. And that’s all that counts.

Absolutely delightful and without a doubt, worth a repin!

Nom nom nom,

Jordan

Leave a Comment

