Asiago Herb Biscuits

Very few smells can top that of fresh baked bread… which includes bread’s little brother, the biscuit.

These little babies will make your neighbors knock on your door and invite themselves over for dinner.

Sooo you may want to double the recipe.

Toss two cups of flour in a mixing bowl and by toss I mean lightly sprinkle or you will turn yourself into a powdery mess… which I may or may not have done in the past.

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Question of the day: what is the difference between baking powder and baking soda?

When I ask these questions, my curious little mind just can’t resist a Google search.

The short answer?

Not much.

Don’t tell a chemist I said that.

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoon each of dried oregano and rosemary… because it was an oregano and rosemary kind of day. No other reason.

I’m not even sure what an “oregano and rosemary kind of day” is but I like the sound of it!

Here’s what is great about these biscuits – you could substitute any combination of dried herbs. Or fresh herbs for that matter because that would be d-e-lightful.

The sky is the limit. Let out your inner herb creativity.

I love trying different cheeses. I think I get it from my dad.

I’ve had breads with asiago baked on top and decided that asiago would be my cheese of choice for these biscuits.

Here again, asiago could easily be substituted for parmesan or romano.

Grate until you have about a cup of cheese. Quick alternative: package of pre-grated cheese

Glorious mountain of cheese

Ok, I know you are thinking “whooaaa… what is THAT?”

I’ll give you two guesses.

Mayo?

Nope.

Sour cream?

Negatory.

This is actually 1 cup plain low-fat yogurt… let me re-phrase that, this is supposed to be 1 cup of plain low-fat yogurt. As you can see from the picture, I was a little short on yogurt.

Since I was adding a bunch of cheese to the biscuits I wanted to cut some of the butter and I read yogurt serves that purpose.

And it did a fine job.

I still added a 1/4 c butter… which I melted just a little too much but hey, it worked out.

Mix with a pastry cutter, or spoon, or your hands. Once it’s all mixed in, sprinkle flour on the counter and…

… knead a handful of times.

Haha, sometimes my jokes dough-n’t quite make it and knead a little work.

Ok, ok that’s the last one.

Roll out until it’s about 1/2 inch thick

Where there’s a lack of biscuit cutter… there’s a glass that works just as well.

I got 11 biscuits out of it. You can always make them a little thinner to get more.

Put ’em on an ungreased baking sheet, and bake for about 10-15 minutes until lightly brown.

Oh.my.word.

Look at that scrumptious yummy goodness.

We made breakfast sandwiches with them but they would be great as a side to soup or many other things that I want to list here but can’t think of at the moment.

Maybe they’ll come to me later.

Enjoy!

Jordan

Leave a Comment

