Chai Spiced Cupcakes

Thank you, glorious Pinterest, for helping me discover incredible recipes like this from the blog Eats Well With Others..

Chai Spiced Cupcakes, the epitome of fall dessert.

They make me want to shout from the rooftops, sing and dance in the streets, kiss a chipmunk, aa-…

What? Kiss a chipmunk. Too far?

I agree.

Chipmunk aside, these are some delightful little cupcakes that have just the right amount of chai-ness, if you will.

Grab your apron and let’s get baking.

Does anybody still wear an apron? Is that just me?

I took one too many tomato splatters to the shirt.

Here’s what you have to look forward to:

Mmm… I wish I had one right now. This particular batch I made for a wedding shower for my very, very dear friend, Micah.

We’ve been friends since Mrs. Reed’s 6th grade english class.

Hey butta, butta, butta…

Sorry, I’m watching the Cardinals play right now. Baseball lingo is inevitable.

This is 1/4 cup of…butta.

And this here is 1 cup of flour.

I tried and tried to think of something clever to say there… I came up short. My apologies.

Now for 1/4 cup o’ suga… times three. 3/4 cup o’ suga.

If there’s a baking party, these two know about it. It’s uncanny. They must have good connections.

1 tsp baking powder & 1/2 tsp baking soda

Ok, now just hang with me on this next part. Time for chai.

Yes, the rumors are all true. The chai flavor comes straight from tea bags.

I know. I was skeptical too. Won’t that be gritty? Will it be too strong? Will I walk around smiling with tea bits in my teeth and end up with my picture on one of those websites devoted to ‘fail’ pictures?!

Rest assured there was no fail picture involved… and the cupcakes are DELISH.

You’ll need 3 tablespoons of the tea which equals to about 9 tea bags.

So just take each little tea bag and cut it open…

… and this is what goes into the dough mixture. I know its looks coarse here but unless you have a texture aversion to this sort of thing, you won’t notice it.

If you would like to make it more fine, grind it a little in a food processor. Or do like I did on one occasion, and put it in a coffee grinder. Then the next day wonder why the heck your coffee tastes so weird and later on remember you had put chai tea in your coffee grinder.

Lesson learned.

Stir it all up until the butter is mixed in and it looks a little sandy.

In another bowl/cup/mixing unit, whisk one egg.

I took one year of French in high school and I will ALWAYS remember that “one egg” is un oeuf. (Pronounced: un-nuf… almost like ‘enough’.)

Crazy what random bits my memory carries with me through life.

In addition to un oeuf, add half cup of milk and…

… a teaspoon of vanilla. Mix that up and let’s add it to the dry ingredients.

Then sample the dough and pretend like nobody saw… even if they catch you licking your finger.

Grease the cupcake pan or use paper liners, whatever suits your fancy.

Fill up each cupcake about halfway. They are a little bit smaller than the average cupcake.

Here they are after their trip to the oven for 17-20 minutes.

Four little escapees. For photo purposes of course. ;)

While they’re baking, you can whip up the frosting.

I had to have frosting-making lessons from my mama to not have a waterfall of frosting running from the sides of the cupcakes. So my description will be off from the recipe.

Use at least two cups of powdered sugar to start off. The trick, as my mom explained, was to keep adding powdered sugar until you got a consistency that didn’t just run right off the top, down the sides, and to the basement.

Add three tablespoons of honey. I wanted to make sure you could pick up the honey taste through the powdered sugary taste.

Add a pinch of salt which helps neutralize the sugary taste and add just a pinch of milk to begin.

It was basically a balancing act between powdered sugar and milk to make it smooth enough to drizzle but not so runny it got all over the place.

Also helps to use a hand-held electric mixer to get the right texture.

The finished product. As you can see the frosting still ran a little but did not drip all the way down so you just have to use your judgement on how much sugar and milk to add.

I know you can do it! I believe in you!

Mmm-Mmm. Don’t you just love fall?

Happy baking!

Jordan

One thought on “Chai Spiced Cupcakes

Leave a Comment

