Pumpkin Spice Scones

I am not done with pumpkin just because Thanksgiving is over.

No, sirree.

IMG_3665

I mean it still feels like fall outside anyways, right?

IMG_3660

Trust me. You’re going to want to make these.

Here’s what you’ll need:

IMG_3654

Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Icing from Brown Eyed Baker

2 c. all-purpose flour

7 T granulated sugar

1 T baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/2 t ground cinnamon

1/2 t ground nutmeg

1/4 t ground cloves

1/4 t ground ginger

6 T cold butter

1/2 c canned pumpkin

3 T half n half

1 egg

Glaze:

1 c & 3 T powdered sugar

2 T milk

1/4 t ground cinnamon

1/8 t ground nutmeg

1 pinch ginger

1 pinch ground cloves

The Prep:

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger. Cut butter into dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly and no chunks of butter are obvious. Whisk together the pumpkin, half n half, and egg. Fold into dry ingredients and form dough into a ball. Pat out dough in 1″ thick rectangle and cut into 12 triangles.

Bake 14-16 minutes at 425 on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Glaze: combine all ingredients and drizzle over scones

TIP: The dough is pretty sticky so make sure you put a decent amount of flour down before you pat it out into a rectangle. Also put some on top of the dough as you pat it and on your hands to keep it from sticking.

Now for the fun part…

IMG_3667

Get jazzy with the toppings!

Chopped pecans…

IMG_3668

Oats…

Lemme tell ya about oats. They are my hubby’s FAVORITE. I am always getting requests to add oats any way possible to muffins, desserts, pancakes, and scones.

I mean even pizza, spaghetti, mac n cheese, salads, omelets, tacos, casseroles, coffee, orange juice…

It’s just pure madness.

IMG_3666

I have no idea who would have eaten that bite. I pinky promise it wasn’t me.

See? You weren’t done with pumpkin either.

You just didn’t know it yet.

Enjoy,

*burp*

The Scone Muncher

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Scones

  1. laurasmess

    Yum! I just checked out Brown Eyed Baker’s version and I love your addition of the chopped pecans and oats! My husband is also an oat addict. He eats raw rolled oats straight out of the bag with milk and sultanas, haha… at present I’m buying about a kilo per week. Oh well, I guess there are worse things to be addicted to!

    Reply
    1. Jordan Post author

      Hi, Laura! I’m glad to know my husband’s not the only one who has an insatiable love of eating oats. Maybe it’s a man thing? Who knows! Thanks for stopping by my blog. :)

      Reply

Leave a Comment

