Good Morning Muffins

Morning is my favorite time of day.

But lately, I haven’t been acting like it with an ever-increasing snooze button count.

So this week, to break this unwanted routine, I vowed to myself and publicly pledged to my husband and best friend that I was going to get out of bed when I should and take time to enjoy breakfast and coffee instead of frantically dashing out the door.

So far, I’ve been successful at prying myself out of bed.

What’s my secret?

IMG_8707.edit

These muffins!

They are power muffins. Wake-up-and-conquer-the-world muffins.

I look forward to these in the morning and consequently, add an incentive to depart from my warm and cozy covers.

I’m not ashamed I have to motivate myself with food sometimes.

IMG_8710.edit

They are loaded with good for you ingredients while also adaptable to preferences. With only a slight sweetness, they still pair perfectly with coffee.

Good Morning Muffins; adapted from Eating Well

¾ c whole-wheat flour

¾ c. all-purpose flour

2 t. baking powder

½ t. baking soda

¼ t. salt

1 T. ground cinnamon

2 eggs

½ c. packed light brown sugar

¼ c. canola oil

¼ c. milk

1 t vanilla

1 apple, finely chopped

1 c. grated or shredded carrot

½ c. oats

¼ c. chopped pecans or walnuts

2 T. milled flax seed, optional

Topping

¼ c. brown sugar

¼ c. chopped pecans/walnuts or ¼ c. oats

THE PREP: Preheat oven to 400 and spray muffin pan. Combine: whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl. Whisk eggs and brown sugar until smooth. Then whisk in oil, milk, and vanilla. Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients until just combined. Stir in carrot, apple, oats, and nuts. Mix up the topping. Scoop batter into muffin cups (they will be very full) and sprinkle with topping. Bake until tops are golden brown and firm to the touch, 15-18 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

IMG_8729.edit

Start your day off right with a tasty and satisfying breakfast.

Disclaimer: Consuming these muffins may result in a bright outlook on the day, determination to conquer to-do list items, and the desire to sing “Oh What A Beautiful Morning.”

You can’t say I didn’t warn you. :)

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Good Morning Muffins

Leave a Comment

