Quiche, Cake, and Kale

Did April happen this year? Did anyone else miss it or was it just me?

The month went so fast it was like one of those crazy dreams you wake up from and the details are all fuzzy and distant. You wake up thinking – what was that?! Something about pickles and gardening? Why was my boss there? Was I wearing a bunny suit?

Ok, ok… so that was not a real dream of mine and the happenings of April weren’t comparable to that level of crazy. It was just a very event-packed month which translated to not a lot of cooking on my part…

…until the last week of April. In which, I somehow managed to crank out some tasty treats for bridal showers and birthday parties and I think they are worth sharing!

Please forgive the phone pictures! I didn’t have my camera for most of these.

Asparagus Quiche; Joy the Baker

IMG_2003.edit

I made this for my best friend’s bridal shower and holy moly, it smells HEAVENLY right out of the oven. I got lots of compliments on it, definitely a winner! Joy made her own crust for this but I used a pre-made crust for time sake.

Get the recipe!

Maple Pecan Bundt Cake; When Harry Met Salad

IMG_2007 - Copy

Do yourself a favor and just go to the blog I found this recipe on. Way better pictures. By the way, how cool is her swirl bundt pan?! I’m on the hunt for one now.

Get the recipe!

Crunchy Broccoli Salad; Taste of Home

Sorry, no picture for this one but this has become a go-to recipe for me. I love the salty   & sweet combo the bacon and cranberries create. Topped with the sweet tang of the dressing and crunch of fresh broccoli and sunflower seeds? I’m hooked! It’s definitely better after it’s chilled for a little while.

Get the recipe!

Strawberry Shortcake; adapted from Cooking Light

No picture here either, sorry. I followed the recipe for the shortcake but adapted the fruit topping. I combined blueberries and strawberry slices, squeezed some lemon juice on top and sprinkled lightly with sugar. Let this sit for a little while before serving. It was a hit!

Get the recipe!

Kale Chips; Smitten Kitchen

Kale Chips 041 - USE

I’ve been hearing about kale chips and seeing recipes floating around the interwebs for awhile now and thought, eh, why not try it? I was curious to see what the fuss was about. Kale is a fairly new flavor for my taste buds so I didn’t just ohh and ahh over these but I enjoyed the new and interesting flavor and texture. I will probably use a season salt or garlic salt next time just to give it a little extra flavor. Give it a try!

Get the recipe!

Leave a Comment

