Asian Pizza with Sesame Sauce

Sesameasianpizza

This pizza and I, well, we have a history…

Back in my high school days, my best friends and I were devoted patrons of the local Camille’s restaurant.

They had a delicious Bangkok Thai Wrap, Bangkok Thai Salad, aaand… a Bangkok Thai Pizza. All of which were sampled by me over the years.

Fast forward, I’m busily working at my desk when I’m suddenly bombarded with an overwhelming (and urgent) desire to recreate that Bangkok Thai Pizza. I quickly determined how well I thought this pizza would turn out on it’s first attempt. Pshh… nothing to worry about, it’ll be hit!

When I get bitten by the creative bug, it doesn’t leave my system until I’ve tried my idea.

Sesameasianpizza1

I created my own thai peanut sauce and, thankfully, was smart enough to make an additional pizza with a store-bought sauce as backup because the combo of my sauce and pizza crust was comparable to peanut-flavored glue. It was pastetastic in a bad way.

It was then that I mentally vowed to conquer this evasive sauce.

Attempt #2 of the thai peanut sauce was better, not as thick, but still missing the mark. With Attempt #3, I opted for a sesame sauce instead and tried using this sauce. However, the sauce was so runny it ran right off the pizza crust and created a soy sauce lake on my baking sheet and a flowing soy sauce waterfall onto my stovetop.

Call me crazy but at this point, I was in too far. I was knee-deep and not turning back.

Sesameasianpizza2

I’m more than happy to report attempt #4 of this labor of love was a wild success! I think this calls for a celebration, don’t you?

Put on your party hats and whip up this pizza. Your tastebuds will thank you!

Asian Pizza with Sesame Sauce; Recipe or Not (inspired by Camille’s Bangkok Thai Pizza)

1 pizza crust ( I used this recipe and made two individual pizza’s with the 12 oz. recipe)

Sauce:

2 T. honey

2 T. soy sauce

1 T rice vinegar

1 t toasted sesame oil

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

1 T. olive or vegetable oil

A pinch of ground ginger

1/4 t. cornstarch, for thickening

Toppings:

Shredded carrots

Green onion, diced

Cilantro

Chicken, cooked and finely diced (optional)

Shredded Mozzarella or Provolone slices

Other suggested toppings: Bok choy, water chestnuts, crispy chow mein noodles

The Prep: Prepare the pizza crust according to the recipe and preheat oven to 400°. In a small saucepan, whisk together the honey, soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil, garlic, olive oil, ginger and turn to medium heat. While the sauce is heating, stir together 1/4 t. cornstarch with 1/4 t. water until the cornstarch has been dissolved, add to the sauce stirring to combine. As the sauce cooks, continue stirring occasionally. After a few minutes, the sauce should bubble and thicken. Keep your eye on it and turn it off as soon as the sauce has thickened. Spread the sauce over the crust, top with the toppings of your choice and the cheese. Bake at 400° for 10-15 minutes, depending on the size of your pizza. The crust should be golden brown, the cheese melted and the toppings heated through.

Notes: For thicker crusts, bake crust on its own for 5-10 minutes (depending on size). Then cover with sauce and toppings and continue baking. For a larger pizza, double the sauce recipe.

13 thoughts on “Asian Pizza with Sesame Sauce

      1. Jordan Post author

        I was just looking through them! I love how each one is full of so many great flavors and blends of different cultures!

    1. Jordan Post author

      Thanks, yupkins!! I’ll never know why I had it out for that sauce but I’m glad I did! Now I have new go-to pizza recipe… Which will probably cause me to reminisce about our ol’ Camille days every time I make it. :)

      Reply
  1. Kelly

    Um this looks AMAZING! Seth and I are getting pretty awesome at making pizzas but I’m excited to try a different kind! Thanks for working so hard to find the perfect combination for your readers :)

    Reply

Leave a Comment

