Pesto & Goat Cheese Pizza with Sundried Tomatoes & Zucchini

Pestogoatcheesepizza

Hi friends! I may have been absent awhile but I’m back with more great recipes for you. :)

As evidenced by the lack of posts, this year has started a little slow for me. In a way, it has kinda felt like my very first track race back in 7th grade. It was the 100M dash and I was settled in my blocks at the starting line with my slicked-back ponytail and pre-race jitters in my stomach. At the sound of the gun, we all took off.

Maybe it was an excess of nerves and adrenaline or maybe I just got off balance but I tripped and fell right there in the middle of the track! Our coach had told us several times if we ever fell, we should get back up and finish the race. So that’s what I did even though the other girls were long gone.

That’s how I feel about my start to 2014. I was ready, filled with the energy only the beginning of a year can bring. In this case though, I didn’t trip. I got sick and it took me out for three days. It turned out to be beneficial (not the being sick part, just the doing nothing it forced on me) because once I felt better, I was ready to get with it!

Pestogoatcheesepizza3

And I started with pizza. Not just any pizza though. THIS pizza. It’s one of my faves and I think you’ll love it too. The pesto sauce is lovely and rich while the goat cheese gives a nice salty bite and the sundried tomatoes round out the whole thing. And the zucchini? Well that’s just on there because I can’t leave well enough alone with my pizza. I’m always thinking “What else can I put on here?”. So yeah, zucchini, take it or leave it. It’s fantastic either way.

Pesto & Goat Cheese Pizza with Sundried Tomatoes & Zucchini; inspired by my local Whole Foods’ pizza

1 pizza crust (This is my favorite recipe. I made the 12 oz recipe and it was perfect for two, I also added oregano to the dough.)

Sauce:

  • 1/4-1/3 cup pesto
  • 1-2 T. olive oil
  • a pinch of minced garlic, optional

Toppings:

  • 1/4 c. roughly chopped sundried tomatoes
  • 1 1/2-2 c. shredded mozzarella
  • 2 oz. goat cheese, crumbled on top
  • 1/2 small zucchini, finely sliced, optional

The Prep: Preheat oven to 425°. Prepare the dough as directed by the recipe. Prepare the sauce by stirring together the pesto, olive oil, and garlic. Spread the sauce evenly over the rolled out pizza dough, top with the sundried tomatoes, zucchini, and any other toppings being added. Sprinkle with mozzarella, then dot the top with goat cheese crumbles. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and the cheese has melted. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Pesto & Goat Cheese Pizza with Sundried Tomatoes & Zucchini

  1. Joanne

    I’m just glad you’re back! Starting off the new year sick is no fun. These toppings all look seriously amazing. Definitely craving this pizza now.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

