Healthy Homemade Granola

Homemadegranola1

Becoming an adult is tough. They don’t tell you this. You slowly learn to accept that you no longer get a summer break, your fridge doesn’t fill itself, and you learn the value of flossing every day to avoid those bills for fillings. (True story, my husband hates getting dental bills in the mail).

After being out of college for a few years now (crazy how time flies), I feel like I’ve pretty much come to accept being an adult. Reluctantly, if I’m being honest. But there is just one thing that I cannot seem to let go of – the hope of a snow day. Anybody with me on this?

When those weathermen start talking chances of snow, I’m like SNOW DAY! SNOW DAY! SNOW DAY! Yea, I STILL hope and pray that miraculously we’ll get tons of snow and everything will be canceled and I can stay in my PJ’s all day.

This has never worked out for me, of course. But I still hope.

On a completely unrelated note: YUMMY GRANOLA!! (Sorry folks, I have no segue for the troubles of growing up and granola).

Homemadegranola2

I’ve tinkered around with recipes trying to find the perfect one and I landed on this one.  I dubbed it “healthy” granola because we are using a natural sweetener (honey) and coconut oil, which has many health benefits. I make large batches of granola because I fill up that glass container in the background and it lasts us several weeks. This recipe is easily cut in half for a not-so-ginormous batch of granola.

Healthy Homemade Granola

  • Time: Prep: 10 min.; Cook: 40-50 min.
  • Print

8 c. rolled oats
2 c. roughly chopped nuts (almonds, walnuts, pecans, hazelnuts, use your favorite)
3/4 c. quinoa, optional
1/2 c. honey
1/2 c. unrefined coconut oil* , melted to liquid state (my label read: expeller pressed virgin coconut oil)
1/2 t. vanilla extract
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 300°. Combine the oats, chopped nuts, and quinoa, if using, in a large bowl. Combine the coconut oil and honey in a small bowl or liquid measuring cup. Microwave it just briefly to ensure the liquid is nice and runny. Stir the vanilla extract and salt into the liquid mixture. Pour the liquid over the dry ingredients and stir until all the oats have been coated with liquid. Cover two baking sheets (one if you are making half the recipe) with parchment paper and bake for 40-50 minutes. Let it cool completely and then crumble it into chunks with your hands. Serve with yogurt, as a cereal, with fruit, we’ve even put it on top of pancakes!

*Unrefined coconut oil means that there is still coconut flavor in the oil. I love this in my granola and with the honey? YUM. If you’re not a fan of the coconut taste, you can use refined coconut oil which will not taste like coconut. If you use this, I recommend maybe adding a little extra honey or vanilla extract to make up for the flavor.

https://recipeornot.wordpress.com/2014/02/06/healthy-homemade-granola/

Leave a Comment

