Quinoa Tabouli

Quinoatabouli

Spring is in the air and I’m ready for some light and fresh food.

It’s ironic that I say that because I’m currently deep in the mountains of Colorado, surrounded by snow and dining on chili.

But truly, I am excited for spring and this quinoa tabouli is the perfect thing to welcome the new season. And I might add, it’s a health powerhouse! The perfect thing to give you that energy to get outside and enjoy the sunshine.

Quinoatabouli2

Feeling a little leery of quinoa? That weird, funky, grain-like seed taking the food world by storm? I was too! The list of the health benefits of this little seed is impressive so I decided I would give it a try. I tried several recipes and didn’t like any of them! Then I made this quinoa tabouli and I can honestly tell you it’s the first quinoa dish I actually LIKED. So naturally, I had to share it. :)

Read about the health benefits of quinoa here and here.

Quinoa Tabouli; Recipe or Not

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cucumber, finely diced
  • 2 roma or vine ripe tomatoes, finely diced
  • 1/4 of a large onion, finely diced
  • 1 handful of parsley, roughly chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • juice of 2 lemons
  • 3-4 T. olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

The Prep: Rinse quinoa in a fine mesh strainer (don’t skip this!), then cook as directed. Let the cooked quinoa cool a little and then toss it in a large bowl with the diced cucumber, tomatoes, onion, and parsley. In a small dish, whisk together the garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, and a good pinch of salt and pepper. Pour the dressing over the tabouli and toss until the dressing is thoroughly distributed. Add more olive oil, salt, or pepper if needed. Let the tabouli chill in the fridge for at least an hour before serving. Enjoy!

One thought on “Quinoa Tabouli

Leave a Comment

