BBQ Air-Popped Popcorn

BBQPopcorn2

What’s your snacky, junk food weakness?

Mine is barbecue chips. Especially the Kettle Cooked kind with the salty, sweet, and smoky mesquite BBQ flavor. MMM.

I can’t buy them though because I eat a rather unhealthy and worrisome amount any time I get my hands on some.

I avert my eyes and scurry past them when I get to the snack food aisle. Basically the same technique I use when I see someone from high school that I only kinda, sorta knew.

BBQPopcorn1

It’s hard not to cave to the craving sometimes.

In an attempt to promote better health for myself, I decided to experiment one night with BBQ popcorn to see if it would satisfy my BBQ chip craving.

I always have corn kernels on hand and I just happened to have all the spices I thought would work so I popped to it. #cornypopcornjokes Ok, I’ll stop now. :)

The end result was the perfect blend of salty, sweet, and smoky and totally satisfying! Too good to keep to myself and definitely blog-worthy.

BBQPopcorn

I’m curious – what’s your snack kryptonite? Are there any healthier alternatives that could still be satisfying? Leave a comment and let me know!

BBQ Air-Popped Popcorn

  • Servings: 1 large bowl
  • Print

1 T. smoked paprika
1/2 t. garlic powder
1/2 t. onion powder
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. sugar
1/2 c. uncooked corn kernels
Oil spray (Olive oil is preferable but canola will work also.)

In a small container, stir (or shake if you have a lid) the smoked paprika, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and sugar. Cook the kernels in an air-popper according to directions. Spray the popcorn with a little oil spray, sprinkle on some of the BBQ seasoning, then give it another quick spritz. (This helps the seasoning stick to the popcorn.) Toss the popcorn and repeat until completely coated. Continue to stir and repeat until the popcorn has been coated. Enjoy!

https://recipeornot.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/bbq-popcorn/

4 thoughts on “BBQ Air-Popped Popcorn

  1. Kelly

    Ooh yum! I love popcorn! We’re going to have to try this. Whenever we use the air popper I never feel like we can coat all of the popcorn very well. Did you feel like you had that problem? I’m curious to know of a better way of doing it! My weakness is definitely chips as well – Ruffles Sour Cream and Cheddar…yum.

    Reply
    1. Jordan

      Yeah, that’s always a struggle for me too. I did try a new method but it was kind of cumbersome and I’ve only done it once so I didn’t mention it here. I tried spreading out the popcorn on a baking sheet and then spraying and coating it. A lot of the seasoning was still left in the pan though so I put the popcorn in a bowl, collected the remaining seasoning and then spread the popcorn again on the baking sheet and repeated the spray and coating one more time. It was kind of tricky with all the transferring of popcorn and trying to gather up the remaining seasoning but I would say it did coat a little better. Let me know how it goes if you try it! I may do some more experimenting and eventually add some notes here about coating popcorn.

      Reply
  2. Joanne

    I just pour popcorn into my mouth when I get my hands on it…so yeah, I could say that I have a problem also lol. I love this savory topping! So often I go for sweet popcorn, but I really shouldn’t forget the savory either!

    Reply
    1. Jordan Post author

      Amen, when I make a batch of this I usually end up eating it all in a few minutes and I’m like “ohh..uh.. guess that was all of it. Time to make some more!” Haha. :)

      Reply

Leave a Comment

