Homemade Crepes: Savory with Roasted Tomato Sauce & Sweet with Fruit and Yogurt

Homemadecrepes

I specifically remember the first time I ever tried a crepe. It was in 6th grade during my carpenter pants phase (yikes!). I had a French class and my teacher brought a crepe maker to class one day… probably one of my favorite days of school.

Crepes then disappeared from my life until I got married. After much encouragement from my hubby who loves savory crepes, I decided to give it a try.

It seemed a little daunting at first (how do you get them to be perfectly thin and round without a crepe maker?!) but I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t take long at all the get the hang of it.

For homemade crepes, the trick is really runny batter, a really hot pan, and master pan swirling skillz. (You know you got ’em.)

The title of this post could actually be His & Hers Crepes. It’s probably a more accurate title anyways because that’s the situation here.

These crepes are “hers”… sweet, creamy, fruity perfection. I used greek yogurt and a combo of strawberries, nectarines, and plums for my filling. I topped it off with my favorite granola.

Homemadecrepes4

And these are “his”. Filled with eggs, bacon, swiss, and topped with a creamy roasted tomato sauce & herbs. Even my sweet crepe loving self couldn’t resist them!

Homemadecrepes6

Homemade Crepes; Recipe or Not

makes 8-9 crepes if using a pan with a 9″ base diameter

Crepes:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c. milk (can use soy or almond)
  • 1 c. all-purpose flour
  • 3 T. butter, melted
  • pinch of salt

Fillings:

Sweet: Greek yogurt, fruit, and granola. (I used lemon greek yogurt but any fruit flavor works and I used strawberries, nectarines, and plums.)

Savory: Eggs, bacon, swiss, and roasted tomato sauce (recipe below). (I used turkey bacon because that’s my hubs’ favorite. I’ve also done eggs with sautéed mushrooms and spinach and swiss which was really good.)

The Prep: Put all the crepe ingredients (not the fillings) in a blender and blend for about 30 seconds or until the mixture is totally smooth. Let the mixture set at room temperature while you get your fillings ready. Heat a non-stick pan (I recommend cast iron.) over medium heat* and spread a small amount of butter over the bottom of the pan. Once it’s hot, pour 1/3 cup of butter in the pan and quickly swirl the pan so the batter covers the bottom and forms a circle. See picture at end of post. You should see the batter darken slightly as it cooks and you may see bubbles (like cooking pancakes). After about a minute, use a spatula to gently loosen the edges and carefully get the spatula under the crepe to flip it. Cook for about 30 seconds to a minute on the other side. Repeat this process until all of the batter is cooked.

*As you are cooking the crepes, if you notice the pan is getting too hot you can turn it down a little.

Note: If you don’t use all of the crepe batter, it will keep covered in the fridge over night. Also, cooked crepes keep well covered overnight in the fridge and are easily reheated the next day.

Creamy Roasted Tomato Sauce; Recipe or Not

makes approx. 3/4 cups

  • 1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1 T. diced onion
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • pinch salt and pepper
  • pinch of your favorite herb
  • 1/4 c. half n half

The Prep: Preheat oven to 400°. On a baking sheet toss the tomato halves and onion with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake for 20 minutes. Pour the roasted tomatoes & onion into a blender with a pinch of dried herbs and the half n half. Blend for 30 seconds. Taste and add more salt and pepper if needed. Pour on your savory crepes!

Homemadecrepes2

 

Leave a Comment

