Greek Power Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

greekpowersalad

The first time I tried kale it tasted like straight chlorophyll.

I like to push myself to give new foods a chance so I made an effort.

Kale chips. Kale salad. Kale in soups.

Welp, I tried. Moving on.

greekpowersalad1

Then I had an idea for a Greek salad packed with nutrition and irresistible flavor.

I had a hunch to give kale one more chance. (Always follow your hunches…unless your hunch is telling you to make a tuna cheesecake. Don’t follow that one.)

I threw in a bunch of colorful veggies, made sure it had plenty of flavor with feta and a lemon dressing, and added chickpeas and quinoa for protein.

greekpowersalad3

The salad turned out perfect. Nutritious and irresistibly good.

So the lesson today is – don’t give up on foods if you don’t like them at first. :)

Is there a food you’ve had to try several times before you liked it? Leave a comment and share.

Here’s to health and new foods!

Greek Power Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette; Recipe or Not

Salad:

  • 1 bunch kale, torn into bite size pieces and massaged gently with clean hands for 30-60 seconds
  • 1/2 c. uncooked quinoa, cook according to directions
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 pint grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 can chickpeas or garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup diced olives
  • crumbled feta for topping

Dressing:

  • 1/3 c. fresh lemon juice (about 2 large lemons)
  • 2/3 c. olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/4 t. dried oregano
  • pinch of salt
  • sprinkle of black pepper

Cook the quinoa according to the directions. While the quinoa is cooking, prepare the other salad ingredients. Combine all of the salad ingredients in a large bowl or platter. Combine the dressing ingredients in a mason jar or container with a tight lid. Shake until the lemon juice and oil are completely combined, 30 seconds or so. Toss the salad with dressing and crumbled feta.

***Like this recipe? Share it with a friend and if you want free weekly recipes, click ‘Get recipes!’ on the top of the sidebar and enter your email address.

 

7 thoughts on “Greek Power Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Progressive Potluck: Appetizer Round

  2. Shel Harrington

    I’m a recent kale-convert, too, Jordan. Just a mere four months ago I whined about how I finally got myself to incorporate it in smoothies and salad and there was no way I was going anywhere near a kale milkshake. OK, so I’m still not up for a kale milkshake – but I actually enjoy kale now. Especially the purple variety. This recipe sounds good!

    Reply
    1. Jordan Post author

      Hi, Shel! Glad I’m not the only one late to the kale game! :) I wanted to like it because I know how good it is for you but just couldn’t find the right recipe until this one. I’ll have to give purple kale a try!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

