Asian Chopped Salad with Sesame Dressing

asianchoppedsalad1

I’m on a salad spree.

And by spree, I mean I posted a salad recipe last month and loved it so much I decided to create another one.

Ok, so it’s not really a spree but let me tell you why I’m so into these salads right now.

I’m an accountant and work in an office all day. I’ve learned the hard way that it’s best to avoid eating heavy lunches during the workday.

They make the already difficult 2:00 slump EVEN HARDER.

asianchoppedsalad

That’s where this perky and colorful salad comes in. It’s packed with all sorts of good-for-you ingredients. Plus we’re adding some grains to make it more filling.

No more 2:00 crash with this for lunch and I’ve noticed I have more energy when I get home too! Soo, uh… you should.. *nudge nudge* … make this salad. ;)

It tastes as fresh as it looks with a smooth sesame dressing to drizzle on.

PS – Have you entered to win these kitchen goodies? The giveaway closes at 10:00pm CDT TONIGHT (9/4). There is still time to enter! Find out how here: Recipe or Not Giveaway.

_recipeornotgiveaway_2

And one last announcement — next week I’ll be doing a series of some of my favorite snacks! A new snack will be in your inbox Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. :)

Asian Chopped Salad with Sesame Dressing; Recipe or Not

serves 4-5

For the salad:

  • 1 5oz. package spinach leaves (I tore mine into smaller pieces.)
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 2-3 green onions, diced
  • 1 1/2 c. shelled edamame
  • 2 c. cooked brown rice (or quinoa)
  • sesame seeds for garnish

For the dressing:

  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1/2 c. olive oil
  • 3 T. soy sauce
  • 3 T. honey
  • 2 T. rice vinegar
  • 3/4 t. sesame oil 
  • Want to add some spice? Use sriracha or crushed red pepper flakes.

Combine the salad ingredients in a large bowl. In a mason jar or container with a tight light, shake the dressing ingredients until everything is completely mixed. You may need to use a fork or spoon to whisk/scrape the honey off the bottom before shaking the dressing.

***Like this recipe? Share it with a friend and if you want free weekly recipes, click ‘Get recipes!’ on the top of the sidebar and enter your email address.

Leave a Comment

