Snack Series: Avocado Toast

avocadotoast1

Ready for some snacks?!

This week I’m sharing three of my favorite. They can hardly be called recipes since they’re so simple but I think it’s good to have some go-to snacks in your repertoire.

I’ve been telling a lot of friends recently about avocado toast so I thought I’d start with it first.

The bread gets nice and crispy in the toaster then smeared with creamy avocado. This on its own is a little bland so we sprinkle on salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes for a kick. BOOM. It’s snack time. (Or breakfast… I frequently eat this for breakfast!)

Avocado Toast; from Kris Carr

  • 2 pieces of bread, toasted
  • 1 small avocado*
  • sprinkle of kosher or sea salt
  • sprinkle of black pepper
  • sprinkle of red pepper flakes, optional

Toast the bread, smear with avocado, and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Done!

*If you use a large avocado, only use half. Leave the seed in one side, wrap with plastic wrap, pressing it against the avocado to remove the air. Leaving the seed in helps keep more surface area of the avocado from oxidizing and turning brown.

7 thoughts on “Snack Series: Avocado Toast

  1. chef mimi

    You know, avocado toast is really common in the UK but you’re the first American I’ve seen post it! I’ve even seen it listed as an hors d’oeuvres. It’s so easy but healthy and delicious! Fabulouss!

    Reply
    1. Jordan Post author

      Wow, that’s so neat! I had no idea! I just discovered it last year and it quickly became one of my FAVORITE snacks. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t heard of it sooner.

      Reply
    1. Jordan Post author

      Sure! Here are some of the tips I use when I shop — if you’re going to use the avocado in 1-3 days, you want just a slight give when you gently squeeze the avocado with your fingertips. If it’s really soft/mushy or has obvious bad spots, don’t buy it. They will typically be more black or darker green in color when they are ripe. If you’re going to use the avocado in 4-7 days, look for brighter green color and no give when you squeeze the avocado.

      Extra tips: If you have a ripe avocado (tender but not mushy) on your hands but want to use it in 2-3 days or so, put it in the fridge. It slows the ripening process so it doesn’t ripen past the good stage. Or if you have a green avocado and want it to ripen faster, put it in a brown paper bag out of direct sunlight for a few days.

      Sorry this got really long but hope these tips help!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

