Autumn Salad with Maple Vinaigrette

autumnsalad

I have lots to share today so be sure to read all the way through!

Sometimes my favorite recipes are born out of necessity.

We indulged in some really good food the first two weeks here in Wisconsin. It was so fun trying new restaurants and there were so many great meals to choose from. I had all this inspiration to create the ultimate mac and cheese because, you know, that’s what you do when you move to America’s Dairyland.

However, I have yet to create the ultimate mac and cheese because after all that great food, I was definitely craving something much much lighter. (I promise to still create the ultimate mac and cheese though. :))

So that’s where this salad came in and I loved it from the first time making it (trust me, that doesn’t always happen). It’s super simple, fresh, and the dressing is my favorite part. It’s a slightly sweet, light vinaigrette that really ties in well with the apples and walnuts.

autumnsalad1

Ok, first announcement — printable recipes! I’m very excited about this and hope this is helpful for you to print out recipes.

And second announcement — Join me this Saturday, November 1st at 1pm CDT as I talk Thanksgiving dinner with Offers.com. I’ll be doing a live Google Hangout chat about helpful appliances and tips. I’m really honored to have this opportunity and would love for you to join! Click here to check it out. You can also check back here on Recipe or Not on Nov. 1st at 1pm CDT to watch the live chat. 

Autumn Salad with Maple Vinaigrette; Recipe or Not

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

For the salad:

  • 2 handfuls of mixed greens
  • 1 cup of cooked, shredded chicken
  • 1 apple, diced
  • handful of walnuts, chopped
  • pinch of shredded Parmesan

For the dressing:

  • 2 T. white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 T. maple syrup
  • 1/2 t. dijon mustard
  • 1/3 c. olive oil
  • pinch of salt

Combine the ingredients for the dressing in a container with a lid and shake for 10-15 seconds until everything is completely blended together. Toss the greens, chicken, apple, walnuts, and Parmesan with the dressing.

 ***Like this recipe? Share it with a friend and if you want free weekly recipes, click ‘Get recipes!’ on the top of the sidebar and enter your email address.

Leave a Comment

