Mediterranean Bean Salad

mediterraneanbeansalad.edit

Leafy green salads are the last thing I’m craving this winter. I bought some spinach a few weeks ago with every intention of making salads.

I used a handful here and handful there in non-salad recipes and eventually the rest sadly went bad in the bottom of the crisper drawer. Whoops.

I decided I needed an alternative. Something fresh and satisfying that I would actually eat this winter. So that’s how this recipe was born and I gotta tell ya, I love this bean salad.

mediterraneanbeansalad1.edit

It’s fresh, filling, and chock full of ingredients that are good for you. And even better – it’s ridiculously easy, lasts a few days in the fridge and makes the perfect snack or lunch when it’s served with pita chips or piled into a pita pocket.

Mediterranean Bean Salad

  • Print

makes roughly 6 cups

  • 2 roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced (peeled, optional)
  • 3/4 c. red onion (about 1/2 medium onion)
  • 1 15oz can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15oz can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • handful of parsley, chopped

For the dressing:

  • juice of 2 lemons (about 1/4 c.)
  • 1/3 c. olive oil
  • 1/4 t. dried oregano
  • 1/4 t. ground cumin
  • pinch of salt & pepper

Pita chips or pita pockets for serving.

In a medium-large bowl, combine all of the beans & diced vegetables. Add the dressing ingredients and stir until everything has been thoroughly mixed. Let chill for an hour in the fridge and give it a stir before serving. Taste it and add a little more salt if needed.

https://recipeornot.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/mediterranean-bean-salad/

2 thoughts on “Mediterranean Bean Salad

  1. kalamitykelli

    My Nana and I used to get this when we went Luby’s Cafeteria – I didn’t like it at first and only ate it because she ordered it but then it became something I loved but haven’t had in years – thanks for the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

