Tex Mex Black Bean Burgers

black bean burgers

I’m not a vegetarian but I sure do love a good black bean burger.

It’s probably because they typically have really good spices in them. Plus they’re very filling and satisfying. (Hellooo fiber!)

The first time I had a black bean burger was with my best friend when I visited her in Dallas one time.

It had onion, garlic, bell pepper and plenty of Mexican spices. I really liked it and kept meaning to come up with my own recipe.

Little did I know it would take me a year to do!

black bean burgers

I tried a few times but really didn’t like how they were turning out so I put it on the back burner until recently.

My version is different than the one I had in Dallas but I was really happy with the end result.

I used a combo of black beans and brown rice and then pumped up the flavor with green chilies, lime juice, and lots of spices. They are pan-fried and hold together well as they are flipped (still be gentle though).

Tex Mex Black Bean Burgers

  • Servings: 6-7
  • Print

  • ¾ c. cooked rice (use leftover or about 1/3 c. uncooked rice, use quick cooking to make this a fast dinner)
  • 1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 4oz. can diced green chiles, drain a little of the liquid
  • ½ medium red onion (about ½ c.)
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ c. breadcrumbs
  • 1 ½ t. chili powder
  • ½ t. garlic powder
  • ½ t. ground cumin
  • ¼ t. ground coriander
  • 1 t. salt
  • 2-3 T. canola oil

Combine all of the ingredients except for the canola oil in a medium bowl and use a potato masher to mash up the beans and combine the ingredients. (If you have a food processor, I recommend using that. I don’t have one.) Heat the canola oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium heat. Form patties that are about 4” in diameter and ½” thick. Once the oil is hot, start placing the patties in the skillet. The patties will be sticky, reshape them in the pan if needed. Don’t overcrowd the pan. Cook the first side for about 5-6 minutes, leaving the patties undisturbed while they cook. Carefully flip the patties and cook for 4-5 minutes on the second side. The burgers are done when they are brown and crispy on the outside. Line a large plate with paper towel and place the cooked burgers on it. If needed, add a little more oil to the pan and cook the rest of the patties. They will cook faster since the pan will be much warmer, 3-4 minutes per side. If the pan seems too hot, turn it down a little. Top with salsa, guacamole, or cilantro.

Author: Recipe or Not

2 thoughts on “Tex Mex Black Bean Burgers

Leave a Comment

