White Bean Chili

white bean chiliIn the same way a song has the power to transport you back to that awkward middle school dance, this white bean chili has the power to transport me back in time.

Not that far back though. Just to last fall when I moved from Oklahoma to Wisconsin.

I was working from home at the time, which was a harder transition from being in an office than I thought it would be. We were running low on groceries and I also really needed to get out of the house.

I went to Colectivo, a local coffee shop, to get coffee and lunch and work for a while. I spotted White Bean Chili on their menu and immediately knew I wanted to try it.

It was fantastic – hearty, slightly creamy, lots of warm spices, and it was served with some whole-wheat toast. From the first bite, I knew I had to recreate it.

white bean chiliI ordered it a few more times and eventually asked if I could get the recipe. I didn’t get the recipe but they did give me the ingredient list, which was like a golden ticket.

It made the recreation process infinitely easier.

Vegetarian or not, this chili is truly delicious. I did try a version of it with chicken and chicken broth but I thought the original version was better. If you do prefer to add meat, I would recommend sticking with the original recipe and just add in some cooked chicken.

White Bean Chili

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: Prep: 10 min.; Cook: 55 min.
  • Print

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 ½ T. ground cumin
  • ¾ t. dried oregano
  • ¾ t. ground coriander
  • pinch of cayenne (omit if you don’t like spice)
  • 3 c. water
  • 1 15 oz. can Northern white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15 oz. can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 heaping T. flour
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Once the oil is hot, add the onions, celery, garlic, and a pinch of salt and let them cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the zucchini and red pepper and cook for 2-3 minutes. Add the cumin, oregano, coriander, and cayenne, cook for 1 minute until fragrant. Pour in the water, Northern white beans and garbanzo beans. Bring the chili to a boil and reduce to simmer for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, mix the flour with 1-2 T. water until smooth in a small container; make sure there are no flour lumps. Pour the mixture into the chili and give it a stir. Let it cook for another 10-15 minutes to thicken up.

Inspired by Colectivo’s White Bean Chili.

6 thoughts on “White Bean Chili

  1. kalamitykelli

    Some lovely creamy white bean chili would taste wonderful right now – it’s zero degrees here with 3 inches of snow on the ground and as you know – we don’t get along well with snow down here!

    Reply
  2. chef mimi

    I don’t know why I’ve never made white chili! I make “regular” chili a lot during winters. But this really looks good, and personally I’d much prefer the chicken over beef. Love the toppings, too!

    Reply
    1. Jordan Post author

      This was my first experience with white chili too! It’s a nice change of pace from beef and has definitely become a winter go-to recipe for me.

      Reply
  3. natty_lynn

    Thank you so much for sharing this! I’m a former Wisconsinite – currently living in New Jersey – and had Colectivo’s white bean chili twice while home for the holidays. Very happy I found your blog post about it (all the Pinterest searching I was doing was not very inspiring, especially since I kept picturing Colectivo’s version). We’re making it this weekend! :)

    Reply
    1. Jordan Post author

      Aw, your comment totally made my day! I can relate to craving foods from your previous home (I’m originally from OK and miss some recipes from my fav restaurants.) I was hooked on Colectivo’s white bean chili from the first bite and even asked for the ingredient list (which is how I made this copy-cat version). I hope it satisfies your craving!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

